Microsoft 365
TMA-M365-5.1.3.2
Ensure that 'Restrict user ability to access groups features in My Groups' is set to 'Yes'
Descripción
This setting restricts standard users from accessing the My Groups web interface in the My Account portal (https://myaccount.microsoft.com/groups). When set to Yes, this web interface access is removed for standard users. The recommended state is Yes. By default, any authenticated user can access the My Groups portal and enumerate group memberships, SharePoint site URLs, group email addresses, Teams URLs, and Yammer URLs across the tenant. This information enables reconnaissance, where a user could identify high-value or privileged groups, map resource URLs, and use that data to plan further attacks or lateral movement. Restricting the web interface limits passive enumeration by users who do not require group browsing as part of their duties, reducing the available attack surface without impacting core productivity. Note: This setting applies only to the My Groups web interface. API-b...
Cómo se verifica
Método de auditoría: Revisión manual
To audit using the UI: 1. Navigate to Microsoft Entra admin center https://entra.microsoft.com/. 2. Expand Entra ID > Groups and select General. 3. Under Self Service Group Management, verify that Restrict user ability to access groups features in My Groups. Group and User Admin will have read-only access when the value of this setting is 'Yes' is set to Yes.
Cómo se corrige
Método de corrección: Guía o parche de infraestructura
To remediate using the UI: 1. Navigate to Microsoft Entra admin center https://entra.microsoft.com/. 2. Expand Entra ID > Groups and select General. 3. Under Self Service Group Management, set Restrict user ability to access groups features in My Groups. Group and User Admin will have read-only access when the value of this setting is 'Yes' to Yes. 4. Click Save.
Propiedades
- Sistemas operativos
- Cualquiera
- Etiquetas
- access-controlm365saas
- Referencia
- CIS Microsoft 365 Foundations Benchmark v7.0.0 - 5.1.3.2 Ensure that 'Restrict user ability to access groups features in My Groups' is set to 'Yes'