TMA-GITLAB-1.3.1
Ensure inactive users are reviewed and removed periodically
Descripción
Track inactive user accounts and periodically remove them. User accounts that have been inactive for a long period of time are enlarging the surface of attack. Inactive users with high-level privileges are of particular concern, as these accounts are more likely to be targets for attackers. This could potentially allow access to large portions of an organization should such an attack prove successful. It is recommended to remove them as soon as possible in order to prevent this.
Cómo se verifica
Método de auditoría: Revisión manual
Esta recomendación no se puede verificar automáticamente. Un escaneo la lista con estas instrucciones cuando se pasa --include-manual.
As an Administrator: - Navigate to the Admin Area - In the sidebar, select Users - Select the 'Deactivated' filter tab - Identify if any users are present - Select the 'Active' filter tab - Sort by 'Oldest updated' - Use the 'Last activity' column to determine which users are inactive
Cómo se corrige
Método de corrección: Guía o parche de infraestructura
As an Administrator: - Navigate to the Admin Area - In the sidebar, select Users - Next to each inactive user, select the vertical ellipsis - Select either 'Block' (recommended), 'Delete user', or 'Delete user and contributions' Perform the following steps as an Administrator to automatically deactivate dormant users: - Navigate to the Admin Area - Select Settings > General. - Expand the Account and limit section. - Under Dormant users, check Deactivate dormant users after a period of inactivity. - Under Days of inactivity before deactivation, enter the number of days before deactivation. Minimum value is 90 days. - Select Save changes.
Propiedades
- Sistemas operativos
- Cualquiera
- Etiquetas
- devsecopsgitlab
- Referencia
- CIS GitLab Benchmark v1.0.1 - 1.3.1 Ensure inactive users are reviewed and removed periodically